Refill Butt DL 7993. Specially selected and bottled for The Limburg Whisky Fair.
At a height of 315 meters, deep in the Monadhliath Mountains halfway between Aviemore and Inverness, Tomatin Distillery was founded in 1897. In 1906, due to the Pattison Crash, the distillery closed, but was soon afterwards reopened by the New Tomatin Distillery Co Ltd. The stills increased from 2 to a staggering 23 between 1956 and 1974. There are no less than 14 warehouses on site, in which about 150.000 casks are maturing. It was the first distillery to become 100% Japanese owned in 1986. The number of stills has decreased from 23 to 12 now, producing about 5 million litres of spirit per annum. Tomatin’s production is for blending purposes mostly, a single malt on the market only since 1987. Douglas Campbell, the distillery manager, joined the company in 1961 and celebrated his 50 years at the distillery in 2011, a unique career.
Fred Douglas founded the independent bottler Douglas Laing Company in Glasgow in 1948. Today, for more than 25 years already, the company is led by his two sons, Fred and Stewart Laing. Their first product – which is still released today – is a blend called ‘The King of Scots’. But one day, while sampling many casks, the brothers felt some of these were too good to be blended. Since then, Douglas Laing successfully releases a whole range of different malts from stocks built up over the last 50 years. In 1998 the launched their highly praised Old Malt Cask range. The complete range, however, consists of Old & Rare, Director’s Cut, Provenance, The Premier Barrel, Double Barrel, Douglas of Dumlanrig, Clan Denny Aged Grains and Big Peat as well as the blends The King of Scots, John Player Special, The McGibbon Golf Range, Douglas and Douglas XO, Langside and House of Peers.
The Bonding Dram
9840 De Pinte
(postal address only)
VAT: BE 0888.834.853
IBAN: BE83 9795 2540 1515
© www.thebondingdram.eu | 2011